• Capital: Chisinau
  • Population: 2,913,281
  • Area: 33,846 square km
  • Borders with: Romania and Ukraine
  • Moldova signed an Association Agreement, including a Deep and Comprehensive Free Trade Area, with the EU in 2014
  • In April 2014, Moldova became the first of the Eastern Partnership countries to be granted visa liberalization, which means that Moldovan citizens can now travel to Schengen countries (for stays of up to 90 days) without needing to apply for a visa in advance
  • Moldova has already adopted an Integrated Border Management strategy and action plan
  • The ongoing and unresolved frozen conflict in the Transnistrian region of the Republic of Moldova is an impediment to Moldova’s stated aim of EU membership